sykoya ~ closer

sykoya closer artwork!

Who is sykoya?  A fresh 4-piece indie electronic dream pop band from London.  They are: Anna Marcella (Lead Vocals/Keys), Alejandro Bonatto (Synth) , Eduardo Leal (Bass/Backing Vocals) and Curtis ElVidge (Drums)!

My first impression of “closer” : A methodical trudge through an emotional quicksand where personal desires meet a fabricated reality!

My take :  Listening to “closer” by sykoya is like taking an unshakable trip down memory lane.  To those moments where my feelings for someone else came up to the surface, but never building up the courage to act on them I just simply lacked the confidence to do so at the time.  With a slow and steady arm, “closer” takes this insecurity and pushes it briskly aside.   Pulling me into an illusory space where my imagination is free to run wild and my dreams become as real as I want them to be.   Through a mesmerizing blend of tiptoeing beats, sneaky sounds and a hauntingly stirring vocal, sykoya is able to carry me through an emotionally dark and heavy landscape of sounds that feels tantalizingly real.  Plodding happily along in my own sanguine thoughts all the while knowing deep down that my eyes might be painstakingly shut!

featured photo by the talented Hannah Couzens

TMH RATING: 8/10 Amazing!

More sykoya ~~ Facebook ~~ Soundcloud ~~ Twitter

{TMH! RATINGS: 7=Very Good; 8=Amazing; 9=On Repeat; 10=EPIC}

Blog Stats

  • 97,206 hits

TMH! All Time Top 15 Tunes!

By E-mail!

Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address if you want to stay in the loop!

Join 4 other subscribers

Play this site on
dROd Written by:

Born in sunny San Diego and raised in central Illinois. I graduated from the University of Illinois @Urbana-Champaign and spent the better part of 10 years in sunny Phoenix Arizona after graduation. I now reside in Savoy IL and I try to make it up to the Chicago music scene as much as I can. Music has always been a part of my life and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Be First to Comment

Let me know your thoughts...